Bill Evans Memorial Young Investigator Award

This award was established in honour of Dr William (Bill) Evans, following his death in 2001. The recipient of the award is chosen from eligible candidates who present their research in the Oral Presentations at the ANZSNP Annual Scientific Meeting. This AU$300 award supports scholarship and fellowship schemes designed to assist motivated graduates in pursuing a research option.
Dr Bill Evans was a founding member of ANZSNP. He graduated from the University of Sydney (Medicine) in 1958 after having undertaken a BSc(Med) in Pathology. He trained in Pathology (Dip Clin Path and FRCPA) at Royal North Shore Hospital and following this spent two years at Queen Square studying neuropathology, where he worked with Bill Moir, a pioneer in electron microscopy. He was a Lecturer and Senior lecturer at the University of Sydney until 1980. He also established the statewide neuropathology service at the Oliver Latham Laboratories and was a sessional neuropathologist at St Vincents, Westmead, Prince of Wales Hospitals and the Department of Forensic Medicine, Sydney. From 1991 he worked at the Department of Forensic Medicine, Sydney, full-time and part-time from 1994.